Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Board Elects New Officers, Directors

Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center announced that Art E. Favre was elected to serve as board chair. Favre has served on the board since 2010. Other elected officers include Thomas J. Adamek, vice chair; Cordell H. Haymon, secretary-treasurer; and Bill O’Quin, immediate past chair.

Board members newly elected include Vanessa O. Graham and Mawuena “Mawe” Takyi. Graham is the owner of VGraham, LLC and is actively involved in the community, including serving on the boards of Thrive Charter School, First United Methodist Church, Rotary Club International, and the Louisiana Tech Park. Takyi is a financial advisor and financial planner with Dent Asset Management. He is the vice president of the Rotary Club of Baton Rouge and serves on the boards of Family Road of Greater Baton Rouge and Hope Academy.

Other board members include: John C. Boyce; Ronnie Daigle; Mark K. Dearman; Kevin Gardner; Catherine “Cathy” S. Giering; Gerald T. Goss; Alice D. Greer; J. Gerard Jolly; Matthew L. Mullins; Anthony O’Connor; Cynthia B. Peterson, PhD; H.N. “Hank” Saurage IV; John F. Smith; Todd D. Stevens; Collis B. Temple, III; and Charles G. Wood, MD.

Brett P. Furr and G. Lee Griffin were recognized for their significant contributions to Mary Bird Perkins with an appointment to the honorary position of director emeritus. Furr served on the board from 2007-2019, serving as board chair from 2015-2017. Griffin served on the board from 2009-2019. He also served on the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation board and was elected chair in 2007.

“Volunteer leadership is vital to Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. The organization greatly benefits from the perspectives and areas of expertise all board members contribute to the mission,” said Todd Stevens, president and CEO of Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. “With their leadership and support, we are advancing the fight against cancer across the Gulf South.”