Starmount’s Amy Marko Receives the Dental Benefits Industry’s Highest Honor

The National Association of Dental Plans (NADP) awarded Amy Marko of Starmount Life Insurance Company with the dental benefits industry’s highest honor, the Gabryl Award, at the 2017 CONVERGE conference in Atlanta, Ga.

The award, presented annually by the NADP to honor a member’s industry leadership and long-term contributions to help the organization’s mission, recognizes Marko’s service and achievement in fostering communication, education, and collaboration between dental plans and providers.

“I am honored and humbled to receive the recognition,” Marko said. “I know the past Gabryl recipients and the work they’ve done, and am honored to be in their company.”

Marko is the Senior Vice President of Dental and Vision Products and Professional Relations for Starmount, Unum Group’s dental and vision center of expertise. In her current role, she oversees the development and management of Starmount’s dental and vision provider networks, including leased networks, and the proprietary AlwaysCare Dental and First Look Vision networks. She is also the strategic lead for product development, network growth. and utilization management for all dental and vision related programs.

“We are extremely proud of Amy for her work on behalf of our company and our industry, over the years,” said Starmount CEO Erich Sternberg. “She has made significant contributions to the dental industry, and it’s great to see her accomplishments recognized by other industry leaders with this prestigious award.”

Marko has an extensive 40-year background in dental insurance and dental support organizations, starting her career in managed dental care in 1977. Her industry expertise and knowledge has helped the NADP to accomplish many of its initiatives, including the recent release of two dental network management tools. It is this industry experience and knowledge that led to her current Starmount role. She has been an active member of NADP since its inception, serving as chairperson on several NADP committees and commissions. In addition, she was elected to, and served on, the NADP Board of Directors from 1999 through 2004.