Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Board of Directors Elects New Members

Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center announced that new members have been elected to its board of directors to help further the Cancer Center’s mission to improve survivorship, and to lessen the burden of cancer.

Board members newly elected for a three-year term include R.J. “Ronnie” Daigle and Collis B. Temple, III.

Daigle is the president of R.J. Daigle & Sons, and co-owner of Daigle Industries. He currently serves on several boards, including St. Elizabeth Hospital, OLOL Franciscan Ministry Fund, Baton Rouge Area Chamber, Ascension Chamber of Commerce, Gonzales Mayor’s Council on the Arts, and Gonzales Area Foundation.

Temple is the National Sales Directors for Primerica, and serves on the Louisiana Board of Regents. He is currently a member of 100 Black Men of Metro Baton Rouge, the NAACP, and several other local boards.

Board members re-elected for a three-year term include John Boyce, Cordell Haymon, Tom Adamek, and Art Favre. Board officers appointed include Bill O’Quin, chair; Art Favre, vice chair; David Winkler, secretary/treasurer; and Brett Furr, immediate past chair.

Additionally, Paul Thompson and Tom Meek, MD, were recognized by the board for their significant contributions through the appointment to the honorary position of Director Emeritus. Thompson has served in a number of capacities at Mary Bird Perkins since 2007, including on the executive, professional affairs, and finance committees. Dr. Meek most recently served two years as immediate past chairman. He joined the board of directors in 2006, and has served on every board committee, and in various leadership positions, culminating in his role as board chairman from 2013 to 2015, and immediate past chairman from 2015 to present.